Bachelorette Baking – Oatmeal Cookie for 1

Watching cooking shows is oh so dangerous. They say not to go grocery shopping when you’re hungry – I shouldn’t be allowed to watch cooking shows when I’m bored.

S’mores is in Nashville, so this is one of the first weekend days that I haven’t done anything with him. I checked everything off my to-do list for the day and decided to watch a little of my favorite cooking show – Chopped. The judges were talking about some sort of spice mixture and somehow, oatmeal cookie made its way into conversation.

And then I really really REALLY wanted an oatmeal cookie.

But I really really REALLY didn’t want to do dishes. Or wait around for all the cookies to bake. Or have all the extra cookies around the house begging me to eat them…

Pinterest to the rescue! A search for “single oatmeal cookie” pulled up this lovely recipe.

20150322_193113

Easy ingredients, all of which I had. I added a splash of vanilla and a pinch of nutmeg. I also didn’t want to deal with 1 tablespoon of egg, so a little Googling suggested that milk may work too so that’s what I used instead of egg.

20150322_192856

The recipe says to bake for 13-15 minutes but after about 10 minutes I smelled something burning…never a good sign! I took it out and this is what I ended up with

20150322_194802

Is it pretty? No. Does it look like her picture? Heck no! But it was actually pretty tasty! The edges didn’t taste burnt; they had a lovely chewy, caramel-y texture. The middle was delightfully soft and a little gooey. A quick and easy (and super tasty) way to curb my oatmeal cookie craving.

20150322_194832

Leave a Reply

