“The List” – part 2

Don’t worry – there’s more! The list continues…

Monster Cookie – Tinder date. Super nice. Way too hick. End of story.

Brownie – He was a teacher as well, so it was nice to have that in common. He seemed very normal and nice in his Tinder messages. But in person? Incredibly awkward. He kind of stuttered – not sure if it was just nerves or what. We ate a painstakingly awkward dinner and parted ways.

French silk pie – He was a part of my 3 dates in 24 hours (yes. Dinner with Monster Cookie on Friday, dinner with Brownie on Saturday, and drinks with French silk pie after dinner). He actually initially invited me over to his place to watch a movie (uh, what? The first time we meet?!) but I suggested we meet up for drinks instead. We had some great conversation, but things just never took off.

Banana split – He and I were maybe in a relationship? I’m not sure. He was very passive. About everything. I pretty much made the first move for just about everything (gave him my number, suggested we meet up, went in for the first kiss…) We were very similar – he was also a teacher living with his parents. We really hit it off and continued to hang out about once a week into the summer. Unfortunately, he lived a little over an hour away and our schedules just didn’t really mesh. He didn’t seem to want to make time for me. And he wasn’t willing to work anything out so things just kind of fell apart. It sucked, but I realized I wasn’t going to make someone a priority in my life if I was only an option in theirs.

Pumpkin pie – He was actually a non-online date. He was a fellow teacher in a neighboring district that my co-workers thought would be a good match. We met at solo ensemble day, and I thought we hit it off pretty well. And apparently he did too – he added me on Facebook and started messaging me before our bus even got back to school. We met up a couple of times (he had me over to his place for dinner) but then out of nowhere he told me how much he appreciated our friendship…I think I was friend-zoned.

Ice cream sundae – This one was interesting. He messaged me first on Tinder and said something about me being beautiful, but not in a creepy coming on too strong way, it was actually kind of sweet. We talked for a week or two then he asked me for my number. We had texted back and forth for a bit, then I suggested meeting up. Radio silence. I had totally written him off but then he texted me like, 3 days later saying he was sick and now he’s feeling better. So we arranged to meet up at an ice cream place. Things went well and a few days later he invited me to the state fair with his roommate and roommate’s girlfriend. We planned to go on a Friday, but because it was rainy he asked to reschedule for Saturday. Saturday rolls around and then he tells me he’s going to a bar to watch the Ohio State football game then he would text me when they were going to the fair. After a while he texts me “my roommate just bought a round of Fireball…this never ends well.” RED FLAG! Long story short, we never made it to the state fair. And I haven’t heard from him since.

Apple pie – Another Tinder boy, but nothing too special. He was a little bit awkward. Wasn’t crazy about him, but he didn’t drive me nuts either. We kind of tried to meet up again, but I got really busy with school about to start and moving my little sister to Utah. We never connected again – and I’m ok with that.

Turtle cheesecake – this one was an interesting one (and most recent). He messaged me on POF on a Sunday night, and by Monday he had asked for my number and to get a drink after work. This was right after I had decided to give up for a while, but I figured why the heck not? We talked for over 2 hours over burgers and beers. He came on pretty strong – texting me really sweet things, always complimenting me. Of course, I bought into it all and fell pretty hard. By the next Monday I had received a “good morning sweetie” text from him and then it was silent. I was pretty confused – this guy went from being all cutesy-texting-flattery 3 or 4 times a day to barely responding to my messages. When I finally called him out on it, he had admitted that he tends to move things pretty quickly and was scared if I found out about the “skeletons in the closet” (his words, not mine) that I wouldn’t want to be friends either. And that was all he wanted right now – to be just friends. Needless to say, I was incredibly confused and felt like I got slapped in the face.

There you have it! In case you lost count, that’s 15 first dates – in less than a year. Yikes. But like my mom says, you have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find your Prince Charming. I guess for now, I’ll just keep kissing…

One thought on ““The List” – part 2

Leave a Reply

